Common & Pete Rock Release New Single ‘Dreamin’; Announce New Album ‘THE AUDITORIUM’

As speculated in our last coverage around Common and Pete Rock‘s release of ‘Wise Up,’ the duo indeed have an album on the way — THE AUDITORIUM, VOL. 1, due for release July 12, 2024.

Now, whether there will be a series of full-length projects as different volumes, is up for contention, although what is clear that another single off the album is out now; it’s called ‘Dreamin’.‘ Complementing the audio is a set of visuals packed into a VEVO Ctrl session performance video, available below!

[embedded content]

The song pays incredible homage to Common’s influences and pretty much to all the legends in hip-hop with the verses, while Pete Rock’s exceptional sonic arrangement shines through with brass instrumentation. In the video, the duo can be seen performing their song in a brass-golden set, with ample light elevating the nostalgia of the golden age of hip hop. The single’s anachronistic quality is similar to that of the last release, ‘Wise Up,’ further suggesting that this upcoming album will follow such a thematic approach over tracks.

To be perfectly clear, this nostalgia isn’t just for the fans; for Common seems to be representing a fan of the culture with this one. In fact, speaking on the experience of working with Pete Rock, he reportedly said “Pete Rock is one of The Greatest Creators Hip Hop and Music has ever seen. It has been a dream of mine to work with him on an album. And once we got together and I I was around him and all his records and his MPC I felt the spirit of what I always loved in hip hop in soul music and why I wanted to be a part of the artform. His beats, his production, his scratches, took me to a place where I could just MC freely. It felt I like I was home.” In more ways than one, Common really drives this one home for many of us, through him.

Now, in case you’re wondering what the tracklist looks like, look no further (instead, look below):

The Auditorium, Vol. 1 

1. Dreamin’

2. Chi-Town Do It

3. This Man’s Arms

4. We’re On Our Way

5. Fortunate

6. So Many People (ft. Bilal)

7. Wise Up

8. A GOD (There Is) (ft. Jennifer Hudson)

9. Stellar

10. Lonesome

11. All Kind Of Ideas (ft. Pete Rock)

12. When The Sun Shines Again (ft. Posdnuos of De La Soul)

13. Everything’s So Grand (ft. PJ)

14. Now and Then

15. Outro

Tryna’ pre-order or pre-save the album? We got you covered here!