Hip Hop Gossip

Stevie Stone & JL Announce "Kontra-Band" Joint Album

Strange Music labelmates Stevie Stone and JL have announced a collaborative LP titled Kontra-Band.

Featuring 14 tracks, the albumboasts appearances fromStrange Music head honcho Tech N9ne, fellow labelmate Krizz Kaliko and PHresher, among others. The title the project was inspired by ’80s video gameContra.

“It had two dudes running and gunning, JLrevealsto HipHopDX. That sparked something for me, with two dudes being in the game. As we started making music, we were discussing ideas and Tech actually was the first one to say ‘Kontra-Band.’

Stone and JL forged a bond while in Los Angeles promoting their respective projects last year and decided it was the perfect time to get to work.

Were just kindred spirits, man, Stevie Stone tells DX. The stars aligned and we went in there and were surprised. It just came like water. We vibed real well and bounced f each other real well, and came up with a dope project.

To mark the occasion, the Strange duo has shared a video for the album’s lead single, “Groomed By The Block” with PHresher who appeared on Eminem’s“Chloraseptic”andits subsequent remixfeaturing 2 Chainz.

“We all came from situations that were hood, that were grimy, JL says. Its a really catchy song. Its a nice dynamic. Its three different artists that are completely different, but meet at a nice, dope place.

The full album is expected to arrive on April 20.

Check out the tracklist below.

  1. Lessons (featuring Jeff James)
  2. Trapping On A Hill
  3. Too High Today
  4. Groomed By The Block f. PHresher
  5. She’s So Fly f. Peetah Morgan
  6. I Was Ready
  7. Envy f. Suli4Q
  8. Not One Of Them f. Tech N9ne
  9. Boss Sauce
  10. Miles Davis f. Joey Cool
  11. Pluto f. Suli4Q
  12. Cautious f. Flawless Real Talk
  13. Bad Habits f. Krizz Kaliko & Nav Monjo
  14. Only A Man f. Suli4Q & Adrian Truth