Janelle Monáe Releases New Album ‘The Age of Pleasure’


Just in time for the summer, creative powerhouse Janelle Monáe has released her new album, The Age of Pleasure.

Marking the artist’s fourth studio album, The Age of Pleasure comes five years after Monáe’s last album, Dirty Computer, which was met with widespread acclaim. Aptly situated in the present, the new album showcases another side of the multifaceted artist – one of complete acceptance, freedom, love and honoring of oneself. But like her previous works, the album still harbors her witty and energetic cadence. Above all, the artist simply wants to feel good with this project.

“This is exactly, how do I honor how I’m feeling and who I am now,” said Monáe about the lead track “Float” to Apple Music. “I’m not thinking about the future, but right now, because this is all we have right now.”

The 14-track album includes features from Sean Kuti, Egypt 80’, Doechii, Grace Jones, Nia Long, Amaarae, Sister Nancy and CKay. Alongside the album release, Monáe is set to go on tour for The Age of Pleasure hitting 26 cities across North America.

Take a listen to Janelle Monáe’s new album, The Age of Pleasure, above.

In other news, Amaarae releases her sophomore album, Fountain Baby.

Read Full Article